Quality Campaign of the German Federal Government

The Federal Government plays an important role in the further development of the building and planning culture in Germany. For this, IBA is a relevant and innovative format for urban and regional development which draws international attention. For more than 100 years, International Building Exhibitions have been a showcase and driving force for urban and regional development in Germany. An increasing number of federal states and municipalities – nationally and internationally – are using the format to address challenging urban development issues. IBA is not a certified label, International Building Exhibitions are a voluntary commitment. The Federal Ministry of the Interior, Building and Community supports activities that ensure the quality and standards of the format an foster dialogue between the IBA.

In 2016, the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development launched the “IBA Qualitätsoffensive” quality campaign in close cooperation with the IBA Expert Council. In 2017, the Expert Council revised and refined the Memorandum on the Future of International Building Exhibitions from 2009, adding a handbook with recommendations on operational issues.

The Federal Government promotes exchange of experiences between IBA through its IBA meets IBA Network. It also strengthens national and international communication and cooperation, e.g. with the joint initiative National Urban Development Policy. In order to intensify the specialist discourse on the future of IBA, the Federal Institute for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development is hosting an IBA Congress in 2019. Furthermore, it is committed to helping noteworthy IBA projects gain access to federal funding programmes. The Federal Government supports the IBA process by communicating all the instruments of the IBA Quality Campaign on this website under its own umbrella brand International Building Exhibitions.

Qualitätsoffensive des Bundes

Die Bundesregierung ist wichtiger Akteur bei der Weiterentwicklung der Bau- und Planungskultur in Deutschland. IBA ist dafür ein relevantes und innovatives Format der Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung, das international wahrgenommen wird. Seit über 100 Jahren sind Internationale Bauausstellungen Aushängeschilder und Impulsgeber für Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung in Deutschland. Immer mehr Länder und Kommunen – inzwischen auch in anderen Ländern – setzen bei außergewöhnlichen Problemlagen der Stadtentwicklung auf dieses Format. IBA ist kein zertifiziertes Label, Internationale Bauausstellungen sind Selbstverpflichtung. Das Bundesbauressort unterstützt Aktivitäten, die Qualität und Anspruch an das Format sicherstellen, sowie den Austausch zwischen IBA.

2016 hat das Bundesbauressort in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem IBA-Expertenrat eine „IBA-Qualitätsoffensive“ angestoßen. 2017 wurde das bereits 2009 erarbeitete Memorandum zur Zukunft Internationaler Bauausstellungen vom Expertenrat überarbeitet und geschärft und um eine zusätzliche Handreichung mit Empfehlungen zu operativen Fragen ergänzt.

Der Bund fördert außerdem den Erfahrungsaustausch von IBA zu IBA im Netzwerk „IBA meets IBA“. Auch die nationale und internationale Kommunikation und Kooperation wird durch den Bund gestärkt, u.a. auch im Rahmen der Nationalen Stadtentwicklungspolitik. Für die intensive Führung des Fachdiskurses zur Zukunft von IBA veranstaltet das Bundesbauressort 2019 einen IBA-Kongress. Weiterhin setzt es sich dafür ein, herausragenden IBA-Projekten den Zugang zu den Förderprogrammen des Bundes zu ermöglichen. Der Bund unterstützt den IBA-Prozess mit der Kommunikation aller Instrumente der IBA-Qualitätsoffensive auf dieser Website unter der eigenständigen Dachmarke Internationale Bauaustellungen.