The IBA Expert Council

The IBA process is being critically monitored by a council of experts appointed by the German Federal Government, the IBA Expertenrat. Established in 2009, it is made up of renowned stakeholders from research and practice as well as representatives from municipalities and federal states. The IBA Expert Council is responsible for securing, perpetuating and further developing the criteria of the IBA Memorandum. At the same time, it advises current IBA and IBA initiatives.

IBA are an internationally unique instrument of planning, urban, and regional policy. In contrast to World Expos, Biennials and Capitals of Culture, IBA have been created without fixed calendars, rules and standardised quality criteria. There is no binding convention on what constitutes an IBA, what its themes and forms of organisation should be.

Precisely because every IBA has to reinvent itself time and again, continuous quality assurance is necessary, which consolidates the high significance of IBA for building culture and urban and regional development and makes the experience gained from it productive both for planning practice and every new IBA. The IBA Expert Council makes an important contribution to this.

The members of the Expert Council are:

Dr. Sonja Beeck, architect, chezweitz GmbH

Dr. Werner Durth, Professor (em) at the Department of Architecture of the TU Darmstadt, History and Theory of Architecture

Angelika Fitz, Director Architekturzentrum Wien

Karl Jasper, Ministry for Regional Identity, Communities and Local Government, Building and Gender Equality of the Land of North Rhine-Westphalia (until 2019)

Dr. Reimar Molitor, Geographer, Managing Director of Region Köln/Bonn e.V.

Dipl.-Ing. Christa Reicher, Head of Chair of Urban Design and Institute for Urban Design and European Urbanism, RWTH Aachen University

Dr. Walter Siebel, Professor (em) of Sociology with focus on urban and regional research, Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg

Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Jörn Walter, urban planner, former Chief Planning Director of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Der Expertenrat mit Staatssekretärin Anne Katrin Bohle, Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat

Der IBA-Expertenrat

Der IBA-Prozess wird von einem Expertenrat des Bundes kritisch begleitet. Dieser setzt sich aus renommierten Akteurinnen und Akteuren aus Forschung und Praxis sowie Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Kommunen und Ländern zusammen. Er wurde 2009 ins Leben gerufen. Der Expertenrat sichert die Kriterien des IBA-Memorandums und schreibt sie fort. Gleichzeitig berät er laufende IBA und IBA-Initiativen.

IBA ist ein international einzigartiges Instrument von Planungs-, Stadt- und Regionalpolitik. Anders als Weltausstellungen, Biennalen und Kulturhauptstädte sind IBA bisher ohne festen Kalender, ohne vorgegebene Regeln und normierte Qualitätskriterien entstanden. Es gibt keine verbindliche Konvention darüber, was eine IBA ausmacht, was ihre Themen und Organisationsformen sein sollten.

Gerade weil sich jede IBA immer wieder neu erfinden muss, ist eine kontinuierliche Qualitätssicherung erforderlich, die den hohen Stellenwert von IBA für die Baukultur und die Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung festigt sowie die daraus abgeleiteten Erfahrungen sowohl für den Planungsalltag als auch für jede nachfolgende IBA fruchtbar macht. Der IBA-Expertenrat leistet hier einen wichtigen Beitrag.

Die Mitglieder des Expertenrats sind:

Dr. Sonja Beeck, Architektin, chezweitz GmbH

Dr. Werner Durth, Professor (em) am Fachbereich Architektur der TU Darmstadt, Geschichte und Theorie der Architektur

Angelika Fitz, Direktorin Architekturzentrum Wien

Karl Jasper, bis 2019 im Ministerium für Heimat, Kommunales, Bau und Gleichstellung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen

Dr. Reimar Molitor, Diplom-Geograph, Geschäftsführender Vorstand des Region Köln/Bonn e.V.

Dipl.-Ing. Christa Reicher, Universitätsprofessorin, Lehrstuhl- und Institutsleitung Institut für Städtebau und europäische Urbanistik, RWTH Aachen

Dr. Walter Siebel, Professor (em) für Soziologie mit Schwerpunkt Stadt- und Regionalforschung, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg

Jörn Walter, Stadtplaner, Hamburger Oberbaudirektor a. D.

v.l.n.r.: Jörn Walter, Angelika Fitz, Werner Durth, Christa Reicher, Walter Siebel, Staatssekretärin Anne Katrin Bohle, Reimar Molitor, Sonja Beeck